The Cure The Future


These are the faces behind Cure The Future + The Cell And Gene Trust.

As well as bringing corporate experience, raising awareness and with contacts across all walks of life – they are also devoted Family members who share a desire to help Cure The Future of genetically inherited disease.


His Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret'd), Governor of New South Wales


Hon. Michael Kirby AC CMG

 Vice Patron

When he retired from the High Court of Australia on 2 February 2009, Michael Kirby was Australia’s longest serving judge. He was first appointed in 1975 as a Deputy President of the Australian Conciliation & Arbitration Commission.

Professor Diana Horvath AO

 Vice Patron

Dr Horvath has been Chairman of the National Health & Medical Research Council, , National President of the Australian Healthcare Association and is a long term member of the Faculty of Medicine at The University of Sydney.

Bill Moss AO

Vice Patron

One of the founders of Maquarie Bank, Bill has been a senior executive within the finance industry in Australia and globally over the past 30 years.

In 2006 he was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for Services to Banking and Finance.

Board Members

Diane Langmack OAM


Further to her success as a journalist, photographer and Editor, Diane has worked tirelessly and voluntarily on many high profile charitable institutions including the Victor Chang Foundation, The Children’s Hospital, National Breast Cancer Foundation.

Prof. John Rasko AO


Professor John Rasko is a world-renowned gene therapy scientist and practising haematologist. Director of Cell and Molecular Therapies at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, he also heads the Gene and Stem Cell Therapy Program at the Centenary Institute of Cancer Medicine and Cell Biology, affiliated with the University of Sydney.

Jennifer Andrews

Deputy Chair

Jenny is a lawyer and partner at Dentons Australia. She has over 30 years’ experience supporting a wide variety of clients (including institutions and high net worth individuals) with their real estate transactions and portfolios.’

Luke Mangan


Luke Mangan is one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs and is highly regarded internationally as a shining example of Australia’s culinary culture.

Stephanie Crockford


Stephanie has been a corporate Sponsorship, Marketing and Public Relations leader for more than 20 years. She is currently Head of Sponsorship and Promotions at Harvey Norman, Australia’s largest retailer, building partnerships & leading their fundraising activities.

Hugh Armenis


Hugh has over 20 years experience in Accounting and Law and is a Partner at Bentleys, where he provides international solutions for governments, corporations and racing bodies.


Lucy Turnbull AO


Lucy Hughes Turnbull AO is an urbanist, businesswoman and philanthropist.

She was Lord Mayor of Sydney and is currently chief commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission.

Lucy is a Mother of 2 children and Grandmother to 3.


‘The Sweet Assassin’ is one of Australia’s most celebrated patissiers and the star of the TV show ‘Zumbo’s Just Desserts’.

He began his apprenticeship at the age of 15 where his love affair with pastry flourished. His swiftly expanding empire began in 2007 with his Balmain shop front, where sugared-up locals couldn’t get enough of his pastries.

Huon Hooke is one of Australia’s major wine writers and critics, Chair of the Vin de Champagne Awards, judge of the Australian Winemaker of the Year and a number of other major wine competitions.

Huon tastes ‘blind’ and his reviews incliude 30,000 notes from wines in Australia, NZ, France and Italy.

Phil Gould AM


Phil Gould AM is a legend in Australian Rugby League as a Player, Coach and now as Executive General Manager of Penrith Panthers. He has been a motivatioal speaker for a number of years and supports Panthers on the Prowl & Randwick Children’s Hospital among others. He is also an ambassador for White Ballon Day, White Ribbon Foundation

Tim Gilbert


Tim Gilbert is a veteran on Wide World of Sports and a key member of Channel Nine’s  TODAY team.

He has travelled the globe covering major sporting events including Cricket, Golf – and 2 Olympics & 2 Commonwealth Games! He is also the host of the southern hemisphere’s biggest road cycling event, the Santos Tour Down Under.


Cure The Future was founded in 2005 through the generous support of our Founders

Mr Bryce Courtenay AM

Our Founding Patron

Mr Paul Armstrong

Mr Michael Carr

Mr Matthew Coren

The Late Mr Bryce Courtney

Mr Peter Dodd

Ms Roslyn Forrest

Ms Christine Gee

Mr Julian Grosvenor

Mr Joseph & Mrs Miriam Habib

Mr Martin Hirst

Mr John Howard OM AC

Mrs Kathleen Howard

Mr Sean Howard

Mr Ben Keeble

Mr David Khedoori

Mr Fred Khedoori

Mr Alexander Lang

Mr William Lynch

Mr Simon Maidment

Mr Bill Moss AM

Mr John Needham

Mrs Helen Rasko OAM

The late Mrs Hermina Rich

Mr Andrew Richardson

Mr David Ross

Mrs Jane Skinner

The late Mr Mark Skinner

The late Mr Eric Strasser


Ewan Isbister

Fundraising and Marketing Manager

Adrian Hayward

Website & Marketing